When speaking of Diamond CLARITY, you are referring to the presence or lack of distinguishing characteristics on and within the stone. All Diamonds are graded based on their appearance under 10x magnification. So when selecting the right Diamond for you, remember what can be seen under magnification using sophisticated microscopes, may not be easily seen bye the naked eye.

Like color, the clarity of Diamonds¬† is a important factor in determining a Diamond’s value. It is rare for a Diamond to be absolutely perfect. Diamonds have internal features, called inclusions, and surface irregularities, called blemishes.

Sometimes, tiny Diamond or other mineral crystals are trapped inside a Diamond when it forms. Depending on where they’re located, they might still be there after the stone has been cut and polished.

Clarity grades are determined by the relative absence of blemishes or inclusions.

FL) Flawless

No inclusions or blemishes of any sort under 10X magnification when observed by an experienced grader.

(IF) Internally Flawless

No internal inclusions and only very minor surface blemishes that are apparent only under 10x magnification.

(VVS) Very, Very Slightly Included

These diamonds are graded within one of two subcategories: VVS1 and VVS2. In both, the inclusions are extremely difficult to see. The most typical inclusions found in Diamonds within these two clarity grades are a few tiny pinpoints, faint clouds, tiny feathers, or internal graining.

(VS) Very Slightly Included

These diamonds are graded within one of two subcategories: VS1 and VS2. They have minor inclusions, which are miniscule and impossible to detect with the naked eye. Inclusions, which are typical in these clarity grades, include small-included crystals, feathers, clouds, and groupings of pinpoints.

(SI) Slightly Included

These diamonds are graded within one of three subcategories: SI1, and SI2. Inclusions are often centrally located and easily detectable. In some cases, an inclusion may even be visible to the naked eye under close examination, yet generally not obviously visible when the Diamond is mounted and viewed under normal circumstances (in a ring, pendant or earrings). Typical inclusions in these clarity grades are included crystals, clouds, line, and feathers.

(I) Imperfect

These diamonds graded within one of three subcategories, I1, I2, and I3. These grades contain inclusions that are very obvious under 10x magnification and may be visible to the naked eye. Typical characteristics of these grades include large included crystals and feathers. Clarity is an important part of Diamond certification as you will see later on, but now take a pop quiz to test yourself on what you’ve learned about clarity.

CLARITY is the second important part in grading colored gemstones.